The Richfield Spartan Foundation
~ Funding Our Legacy ~
RSF Home
Give to the MAX Nov 18, 2021

Memorial Foundation Awards

Over the years, various families have decided to give a scholarship to the Richfield Spartan Foundation in memorial of someone they love. Here is the list of selfless families. The Spartan Foundation’s 30-year history of fundraising for Richfield Public Schools and college scholarships provide the basis for a new era of synergy.   Due  to recent  generous donations from sources beyond the profits of the golf  tournament and  sponsor donations, the foundation has been able to merge with other foundations and give even more scholarships. In 2019, the Spartan Foundation will present 25 $1,000 scholarships to graduating seniors. 

Desmond Family Foundation Award

The Desmond Foundation came to fruition through the hard work and perseverence of John & Janet Desmond who founded Tom Thumb Donuts, an institution at the Minnesota State Fair dating back to 1950. Its purpose is to engage in causes which help people who have overcome adverse situations. In  partnership with Normandale Community College, The Desmond Foundation participates in the Spartan Foundation's "Against All Odds" scholarship. This award is presented to an RHS student who have excelled academically and athleticly and will be attending Normandale Community College. Previous award winners include:
2021 Award Winner: Brianna Boykins
2020 Award Winner: Yogeeta Manikaran
2019 Award Winner: Maggie Bui
2018 Award Winner: Ishell Enriquez Torres
2017 Award Winner: Christina Dejvongsa, Naderia Harold, Nalisa Manikaran
2016 Award Winner: Michael Meister, Aaron Swengel & Abdimunim Hayow
2015 Award Winner: Sahro Hayow
2014 Award Winner: Marriah Anderson-Eldstrom

Russ Schuveiller Memorial Scholarship

Russ Schuveiller was a member of the RHS Class of 1960. Even after his insurance business thrived, he never forgot where he come from. After Russ' passing in 2014, the family created 2 scholarships in his memory, to be awarded to the male and female student who has demonstrated outstanding achievement in three areas: athletics, academics, and leadership.
2021 Award Winner: Nicholas Eggen , Natalie Hanson
2020 Award Winner: Alexandra Medvec, Vashti Sanichara
2019 Award Winner: Evynn Hall
2018 Award Winner: Zamara Tomko, Josh Anderson
2017 Award Winner: Aaron Anderson, Veronica Lundquist
2016 Award Winner: Thomas Fallon & Kaelyn Swetala
2015 Award Winner: Rachel Youngquist & Daniel Van Eyll

RHS Alumni Scholarship

Open to any senior who contributed to the success of the school and community. It honors the memory of former RHS students and faculty. Sources of these memorials are Bob Collison and Jim Hare, former Richfield coaches and faculty members. And Paul A. Schmidt, class of 1983.
2021 Award Winner: Helen Nguyen 
2020 Award Winner: Luke Ott
2019 Award Winner: Mikah White
2018 Award Winner: Ashlyn Jones

Oz Mullerleile Memorial Scholarship

Given by family of OZ, a community member who was an outstanding supporter of RHS activities with a special love for athletics – male and female.
2020 Award Winner: Molly Stark
2019 Award Winner: Demetrius Coleman
2018 Award Winner: Tenzen Dekyi

Steve Grindeland Memorial Scholarship

Given by RHS class of 1972 for a FIRST GENERATION college student in honor of Steve, their classmate who never had the opportunity to attend college.
2021 Award Winner: Brandon Portillo 
2020 Award Winner: Guadalupe Galeno Rodriguez
2019 Award Winner: Maria Valdez
2018 Award Winner: Sabeena Jagdeo

Bob Tripanier Memorial Scholarship

Given in honor of Bob, a former RHS graduate, class of 1965, and a devoted Spartan ever since. This award goes to a senior who also is devoted to RHS. 
2021 Award Winner: Crystal diGrazia
2020 Award Winner: Joelle Safiya T Poyatos
2019 Award Winner: Katherine Urzua Parra

Karnas Family Memorial Scholarship

Honors a softball or baseball player who is exceptionally team-oriented.
2021 Award Winner: Nicholas Wiederholt 

Kron Family Memorial Scholarship

Awarded to a senior who, despite diminished family resources will continue his/her athletic career in college.
2021 Award Winner: Connor Hintz

Bill Davis Scholarship

Bill Davis, RHS class of 1960 was not only the most outstanding athlete in RHS history who captained U of M teams and played professional baseball, but he also went on to serve the Richfield community as a coach and president of the Spartan Foundation. Bill wants this scholarship to be open to a college-bound senior who has demonstrated extraordinary dedication to community service within or outside of RHS.
2021 Award Winner: Ahan Christian 

Distinguished Service Award

This award is presented to recognize individuals who have have unselfishly given their time and resources for the benefit of Richfield youth.
2014 Award Winner: Tom Ulmer & Robert Small
2010: Russ Schuveiller
2011: Ernie and Jean Lindstrom

They Made a Difference Award

This award is presented to recognize individuals who have a made a significant difference in the Richfield community and the Spartan Foundation.
2012: John and Peggy Hamilton
2011: Warren Anondson, Fran Kiedrowski, and Adler Strandquist

Honors & Awards

The Richfield Spartan Foundation is proud to support a variety of honors and awards recognizing outstanding achievement in our community. Over the years we have continued to expand the number and value of the awards distributed due to the generosity of individuals and sources such as the Desmond Foundation and the Patch Foundation.
Contact us to donate or register for our event. Back.