The Richfield Spartan Foundation
~ Funding Our Legacy ~
RSF Home
Call us at (612) 819-9053 or Email Us
Site by BTWSB
Copyright © 2019 - The Spartan Foundation - Privacy Policy
A Volunteer Run Non-Profit 501(c)(3) Corporation
Bill Davis - President - 612-819-9053 - Email - 5601 Dewey Hill Road, #112, Edina, MN 55439
Funding Our Legacy
RSF Home

Honors & Awards

The Richfield Spartan Foundation is proud to support a variety of honors and awards recognizing outstanding achievement in our community. Over the years we have continued to expand the number and value of the awards distributed due to the generosity of individuals and sources such as the Desmond Foundation and the Patch Foundation.
The Top Scholar Award is presented to a Richfield High School graduating senior who demonstrates strong academic achievement, leadership and community involvement. Applicants must rank in the top ten percent of the senior class.

Top Scholar Award

Contact us to donate or register for our event.

Against All Odds (AAO) Award

The Against All Odds Award is presented to a Richfield High School graduating senior, regardless of GPA, who has demonstrated the values of perseverance, fortitude and determination to overcome significant challenges.
The Athena Award is presented annually to the outstanding female senior athlete based on excellence in individual sports or for participation and accomplishments in team sports.

Tom Spooner Award

This award is presented annually to the outstanding male senior athlete who demonstrates outstanding achievement in athletics, citizenship and academic excellence. The award is named for Tom Spooner, a Richfield High School athlete, who died from leukemia in 1959 and personified these criteria.

Richfield Athletic Hall of Fame

The Athletic Hall of Fame was established in 1991 to honor players, coaches and community leaders making a significant contribution to Richfield High School athletics. Since its inception, 138 individuals have been inducted consisting of 112 athletes, 21 coaches and 5 community leaders. Nomination forms for prospective inductees can be obtained from the Athletic Director at Richfield Senior High School. The following is a list Hall of Fame inductees sorted by year of induction and includes each individual's year of graduation or years of service:

They Made a Difference Award

This award is presented to recognize individuals who have a made a significant difference in the Richfield community and the Spartan Foundation.
This award is presented to recognize individuals who have have unselfishly given their time and resources for the benefit of Richfield youth.
2018 Award Winner: Matthew Kiflu, Hayley Hadges
Previous winners.
2018 Award Winners: Tenzen Tseten, Breanna Wendland, Bernice Mamana, Francia Figueroa Manterola, Amelia Amundson, Caitlin Cumigad, Tenzen Dekyi (OZ Mullerleile Memorial Scholarship), Ashlyn Jones (RHS Alumni Memorial Scholarship). Previous winners.
2018 Award winner: Abigail Stok
Previous winners.
2018 Award Winner: Connor Swetala
Previous winners.
2015: Coach Marc Hamren, Coach Pat Burns, Molly Ramm 2000, Ryan Schrick 1994, Bruce Kottom 1975, Casey Johnson 1993, Troy Jutting 1982, & Community Leader Steve Lindgren
Coach Larry Hendrickson, Andy French 2003, Matt Scanlon 1996, Bill Stark 1972, Tracy Vitols 1989
Previous Winners.
2012: John and Peggy Hamilton
2011: Warren Anondson, Fran Kiedrowski, and Adler Strandquist
2014 Award Winner: Tom Ulmer & Robert Small
2010: Russ Schuveiller
2011: Ernie and Jean Lindstrom
2017 Program

AAO - First Generation College Award

AAO - Community / Technical College Award

Arts Award

Team of Distinction Award

This award is presented to an RHS student who will be a part of the first generation to attend college.
2018 Award Winner: Parbate Rammandon, Ashlyn Jones, Yeabsira Haile, Sabeena Jagdeo (First Generation College, Steve Grindland Memorial Scholarship). Previous Winners.
This award is presented to an RHS student who will be attending a community / technical college in the metro area.
2018 Award Winner: Mikaylka Hallow-Tyler. Previous winners.

AVID Award

This award is presented to an RHS student who has been actively involved in either Band, Choir, or Theatre.
2014 Award Winner: Keenan Barbar
This award is presented to an RHS student who has been an AVID student all 4 years of high school. AVID's mission:
2015 Award Winner: Aretzy Ramirez & Alyson Wendland
2014 Award Winner: Keenan Barbar
This award is presented to Richfield sports team that has not only shown the values of teamwork off the field but on the field as well. More.

"Teamwork is the ability to work together toward a common vision. The ability to direct individual accomplishment toward organizational objectives. It is the fuel that allows common people to attain uncommon results." - Successories
2015: 1963 Football Team, the 1971 & 1972 Baseball Teams, and the 1975 Gymnastics Team. More.
1965 RHS Baseball State Champs - Undefeated (25-0)
2011: Women's Fast Pitch - State Champs 1992

Russ Schuveiller Memorial Scholarship

Russ Schuveiller was a member of the RHS Class of 1960. Even after his insurance business thrived, he never forgot where he come from. After Russ' passing in 2014, the family created 2 scholarships in his memory, to be awarded to the male and female student who has demonstrated outstanding achievement in three areas: athletics, academics, and leadership. Previous Winners.
2018 Award Winner: Zamara Tomko, Josh Anderson
The Desmond Foundation came to fruition through the hard work and perseverence of John & Janet Desmond who founded Tom Thumb Donuts, an institution at the Minnesota State Fair dating back to 1950. Its purpose is to engage in causes which help people who have overcome adverse situations. In  partnership with Normandale Community College, The Desmond Foundation participates in the Spartan Foundation's "Against All Odds" scholarship. This award is presented to an RHS student who have excelled academically and athleticly and will be attending Normandale Community College. Previous Winners.
2018 Award Winner: Ishell Enriquez Torres

AAL Award

Athletic / Academic / Leadership ward - This award honors students who are not only top athletes, but leaders within their high school as well.
2018 Award Winner: Katherine Pearce, Molly Kleist, Sara McGinnis, La'Caisha James, Dylaann Jaydeo
2017 Award Winner: Chase Androff, Elizabeth Melssen, Emma Nollenberger, Kyle Odefey

Distinguished Service Award

Desmond Family Foundation Award

Athena Award